Getting Permission to Metal Detect on Private Property

After hours of research, you’ve finally found the perfect spot to relic hunt but aren’t sure how to get permission.  The key is to be direct and courteous and don’t try to be deceptive.  Use common sense when knocking on a door.  Don’t go too early or late and go to the door alone.  I usually knock and step away from the door.  When the home owner answers, I introduce myself and let them know that I am out looking for a great place to metal detect and I think their property would produce some really great relics.  If they say no, I thank them and move on.  If they say yes, I usually don’t ask any more questions unless I’m unsure about the property and would like more info.  When I’m done hunting, I usually just leave unless I want to ask to come back or the homeowner is outside and then I just thank them and move on.  The less of a burden you are the better.

One response to “Getting Permission to Metal Detect on Private Property”

  1. Papa Bear says :

    Absolutely agree on the research and being direct.

Leave a Reply

