Spanish Cob in Virginia!!!

I’d never thought I would find any hammered silver never mind Spanish!  This was found on February 17, 2012 at the same site I found the spectacle buckles in King and Queen county.  Of the 500 acres, I’ve narrowed the hot spot to about a half an acre near a spring or small water source.  This area has produced very few buttons but loads of musket and pistol balls.  I’ve also found quite a few pieces of ornate brass or copper, fragments of buckle frames and of course the two 17th century spectacle buckles.  This little area is loaded with iron but with my Teknetics T2 and 5″ coil I was able to navigate through the constant grunting and find a sweet high tone that produced this awesome Cob.

Leave a Reply

